My Brave Baby & Phil Gallagher (Mister Maker)

Standard

Well just over a week ago my gorgeous baby girl had her operation, she had her tonsils and adenoids out. To say that I was a nervous wreck is an understatement but my awesome little C did not bat an eyelid all she could talk about was driving herself down to the operating theatre in an electric mini cooper!

I was not sure if I really wanted her to have the op and put her through all the trauma, but the surgeons confirmed after the operation that it was a good job we did go through with it as she had grade 3-4 tonsils (in laymen’s terms this means massive) and had a lot of adenoid tissue to be removed, they confirmed thiswould have been really effecting her snoring and sleep apnoea, and the tonsils being so large would definitely have made her life difficult with illness in the future.

The operation was done at the Royal Alexander Children’s Hospital in Brighton and they were phenomenal  they not only looked after me the emotional nervous wreck but they also made sure that my daughter was completely happy and comfortable, when in the first part of the operating theatre they blew bubbles to distract her while having her needle and sleep inducing medication put in she had no idea that anything was happening.

When she woke up she was groggy but perfectly happy, 3 hours later she was demanding food and running around like a headless chicken.  I cannot get over how quickly she bounced back after the operation.  It has not been the easiest week when the Calpol wore off she certainly felt the pain and I have had sleepless nights,  I can no longer hear her deep raspy breathing and snoring over the baby monitor, I had to keep getting up to check she was still ok! We were let out of hospital the next day just in time for me to make and decorate 100 cupcakes for the Brighton Baby Expo at the new Amex stadium

I was asked by one of the lovely ladies who runs the baby expo to make some cupcakes for Phil Gallagher who is Cbeebies Mr Maker which I very excitedly agreed to do them and I made the rest of the cakes for the lovely Brighton Mums stand, I was up until 12:pm decorating the to make sure that they were the best I had done, I made a giant cupcake that was put on the Brighton Mums website to be won after the expo. Mister Maker certainly liked my cakes as you can see from the photos he even took my business card

C was gutted as she was supposed to meet Mister Maker who is one her favourite people from cbeebies but was not allowed to be in a public place due to risk of infection, C and her daddy helped me drop of the cakes and who should walk in just after we arrived, Mister Maker himself and he was very kind and spoke with C she was very star struck bless her, when I presented the cakes to him at the ribbon cutting he asked how she was how lovely is that!

Mister Maker cakes Brighton Baby Expo

Flour and Sprinkles Meets Mister Maker

C has now made a full recovery and we are now reaping the benefits as she sleeps much better and and can eat much better and I am also hoping that we  will have a lot less sore throats chest infections and visits to the hospital!

2 responses »

  1. I have just come back from royal Sussex, just been told my 3 year old son needs his adenoids & tonsils out as really affecting his breathing & sleep. I feel sick to the stomach of my little boy going under and having this op but reading your post has made me feel a little bit better. Thank you. If any tips on recovery please let me know

    • Ah bless him, I know those feelings all to well they never do the operation unless they have to! You will be stunned at how quickly they recover I was prepared for for the worst but three hours after the op my daughter was up and eating (never seen her eat so much!) she was running up and down the corridors doing superman impressions.

      The best tip I can give is make sure for the few days after the op you let them dictate how they want to sleep as when the calpol and nurofen wears off they become a little cranky but other than that They do it all for themsleves. I was amazed at how easily my daughter bounced back most of the time you would never had known she had an operation!

      I am so glad that my blog has eased your worries the hardest part is them demanding sweeties and having to say NO.

      Please let me know how he and you get on good luck and best wishes.

Leave a Reply

